Compensation Fund

The Association Verkehrsopferhilfe e. V. was founded in 1963 by all motor liability insurers which were members of the former Association of Third Party Liability, Accident, Motor and Legal Expenses Insurers: with effect from 1 January 1966 it was assigned the position of legal compensation fund for claims arising out of motor vehicle accidents and since 1 January 2003 the position of compensation body, with its consent in each case.

The Guarantee Fund has been established to close the last gaps in the Law on Compulsory Insurance and to save road accident victims from those hardships against which they are least able to protect themselves. According to Sects. 12 et seq. of the Law on Compulsory Insurance, it settles, inter alia, claims caused by the use of an illicitly uninsured motor vehicle, which cannot be identified, or caused intentionally and unlawfully by a motor vehicle. Furthermore, it is competent in the case of insolvency of a motor liability insurer operating in Germany. The entire claims expenditure is born solely by motor liability insurers: the public sector does not participate. Everybody may contact the Association; one does not have to be a member. From the earmarking of the Guarantee Fund it follows that it may not provide compensation for all losses indiscriminately.

In so-called “cases of hit-and-run driving”, to avoid any excessive or even abusive use of the fund, material damage caused to motor vehicles is compensated for only if considerable bodily injury has been caused at the same time.

In this context, the legislator rightly assumed that every vehicle owner for whom loss or severe damaging of his motor vehicle would result in hardship destroying his livelihood may protect himself by taking out full comprehensive cover. This is available for everybody at reasonable premium rates if an adequate deductible is agreed.

If the material damage may be compensated for, a cost-sharing contribution of 500 euro is deducted. Compensation for pain and suffering is paid in this case group if required to avoid gross inequity due to the particular severity of the injury. According to prevailing case law, such gross inequity is always deemed to exist if the injuries of the victim go clearly and drastically beyond injuries occurring in accidents in everyday road traffic. This means that the damage incurred has to stand out from the mass of bodily injuries by the fact that it represents a permanent and considerable impairment of the physical functions of the person concerned.

These restrictions do not apply in the other two case groups of “uninsured vehicle” and “intent”.

The Association does not settle the claims lodged by itself. Rather, it uses the services of a member company which carries on motor liability insurance as a direct insurer. If no agreement is reached with the victim on the grounds and/or the level or if legitimate claims exceed a certain limit, a Regulatory Committee set up with the Association settles the case.

This service is free of charge for the victim. Applications may be filed in a formless manner. A brief statement of facts and details on the losses claimed will suffice.

Comments are closed

Garantiefonds (Entschädigungsfonds)

Der Verein Verkehrsopferhilfe e.V. wurde im Jahre 1963 von allen Autohaftpflichtversicherern, die dem früheren HUK-Verband angehörten, gegründet: Mit Wirkung vom 1.1.1966 wurde ihm die Stellung des gesetzlichen Entschädigungsfonds für Schäden aus Kraftfahrzeugunfällen und seit dem 1.1.2003 die Stellung der Entschädigungsstelle jeweils mit seiner Zustimmung zugewiesen.

Der Garantiefonds ist eingerichtet worden, um letzte Lücken im Pflichtversicherungsgesetz zu schließen und um die Verkehrsopfer vor Härten zu bewahren, gegen die sie sich am wenigsten schützen können. Er reguliert nach den §§ 12 ff Pflichtversicherungsgesetz u.a. Schäden, die durch den Gebrauch eines nicht zu ermittelnden bzw. pflichtwidrig nicht versicherten Kraftfahrzeuges entstanden sind oder mit einem Kraftfahrzeug vorsätzlich und rechtwidrig herbeigefügt werden. Ferner ist er zuständig im Falle einer Insolvenz eines in Deutschland tätigen Autohaftpflichtversicherers. Die gesamten Schadenaufwendungen werden allein von den Autohaftpflichtversicherern getragen: Die öffentliche Hand beteiligt sich nicht. Jeder kann sich an den Verein wenden; man muss kein Mitglied sein. Aus der Zweckbestimmung des Garantiefonds folgt, dass er nicht unterschiedslos alle Schäden ersetzen kann.

In den sogenannten „Fahrerfluchtfällen“ werden, um eine übermäßige oder gar missbräuchliche Inanspruchnahme des Fonds zu vermeiden, Sachschäden an Kraftfahrzeugen nur erstattet, wenn gleichzeitig ein beträchtlicher Personenschaden entstanden ist.
Der Gesetzesgeber ist in diesem Zusammenhang mit Recht davon ausgegangen, dass jeder Kraftfahrzeughalter, für den der Verlust oder die schwere Beschädigung seines Kraftfahrzeuges zu einer Existenz vernichtenden Härte führen würde, sich durch den Abschluss einer Vollkaskoversicherung schützen kann. Diese ist  bei Vereinbarung einer angemessenen Selbstbeteiligung zu zumutbaren Beitragssätzen für jeden erhältlich.

Wenn die Sachschäden erstattet werden können, wird ein Selbstkostenbeitrag in Höhe von 500 Euro abgezogen. Ein Schmerzensgeld wird in dieser Fallgruppe gezahlt, wenn es wegen der besonderen Schwere der Verletzung zur Vermeidung einer groben Unbilligkeit erforderlich ist. Eine solche liegt nach ständiger Rechtsprechung immer dann vor, wenn die Verletzungen des Geschädigten deutlich und drastisch über das hinausgehen, was bei den täglichen Unfällen im Straßenverkehr an Verletzungen auftritt. Das heißt, der eingetretene Schaden muss dadurch aus der Masse der Personenschäden herausragen, dass er für den Betroffenen eine dauernde und erhebliche Beeinträchtigung seiner körperlichen Funktionen darstellt.

In den anderen beiden Fallgruppen „nicht versichertes Fahrzeug“ und „Vorsatz“ gelten die Einschränkungen nicht.

Der Verein reguliert die erhobenen Ansprüche nicht selbst. Vielmehr schaltet er ein Mitgliedsunternehmen ein, das die Autohaftpflichtversicherung als Erstversicherer beitreibt. Lässt sich mit dem Geschädigten eine Einigung über Grund und/oder Höhe nicht erreichen oder liegen die berechtigten Ansprüche über einem bestimmten Limit, so entscheidet eine beim Verein gebildete Regulierungskommission.

Dieser Service ist für den Geschädigten kostenlos. Anträge können formlos gestellt werden. Es genügt eine kurze Sachverhaltsdarstellung und die Angabe, welche Schäden geltend gemacht werden.

Kommentare sind geschlossen.